Typography Choices – Body Text

For the body text in the designs I produced for this project, I chose Futura as the typeface. Futura, a geometric sans-serif type, was designed in 1927 by German typeface designer Paul Renner.

Another clean, crisp typeface, I felt that Futura would work well with Avant Garde, much better than a serif-based type would. I did test with Avenir (a typeface designed by Eric Gill, one which is very similar to Futura) but I felt that Futura was more suitable. I wanted to keep a futuristic, simplified feel to all the text elements of the promotional and design work for this project, and both typefaces I’ve selected do that very effectively, in my personal opinion.

Leave a Reply

