Emotions

The chosen subject for the graphic design pathway was ’emotions’, so my first thought was “how do I make children understand emotions?”… We were tasked with creating a double page spread based on our own interpretation of emotions.

My first step was to think about what emotions there actually are, so I found a useful series of illustrations using a Google image search. 20170215_104643

Using these illustrations, I tried to decide which emotions would me easier to communicate to children. After some useful feedback from our trip to Plymouth School of Creative Arts (see PCA meets PSCA post), I ended up settling for six:

  • Anger
  • Boredom
  • Excitement
  • Happiness
  • Sadness
  • Shock

I thought that these were some of the most basic, easily understandable emotions, and as our target audience are only aged between 3 and 6 years old, easy communication is necessary.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

