My Strengths, Weaknesses and Targets

  • 1 skill I’m great at:
    • I feel like I’m very adept with the use of typography in design – for example using a very select list of typefaces and knowing where and when to use them.
  • 1 skill I’d like to learn to develop:
    •  I would really like to expand my ability to illustrate, as I feel it would really benefit my work.
  • 3 things that inspire me:
    • The Swiss design movement – more specifically Josef Muller-Brockmann.
    • Russian revolutionary art – especially Kazimir Malevic, Alexander Rodchenko and El Lissitzky.
    • The Bauhaus school – artists including Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, Josef Albers and Walter Gropius.
  • 3 things I do to switch off:
    • play computer games.
    • listen to music.
    • watch tv.
  • 1 piece of work I would have loved to have made:
    • This would definitely be the map for the London Underground system, which is widely considered as the best piece of graphic design ever made.
  • My Strengths
    • Branding and re-branding
    • Use of typography in design
    • Good communicative skills
    • Good people skills
  • My Weaknesses
    • I get distracted far too quickly and far too easily
    • I am too critical of my own work
  • Opportunities
    • I see this course as an opportunity to further myself as a creative and as a person
    • I also see the chance to progress onto a career in teaching
  • Threats
    • The main threat to my learning at this moment in time is my maturity level. I need to start taking the course and my work more seriously
    • I see the current lack of funding towards the arts within the school system in the country as a credible threat to my planned career

My progression target is to progress on to a design degree, then on to a teaching degree, and finally to teach secondary education. My character target is to take more responsibility for my own learning at college

Leave a Reply

